HANDZ – Week 3

I haven’t worked on the game for some time, now that I’m back I’m going to talk about all the changes in mechanics that i’ve been working on.

First of all: The new weapon system.

I decided that implementing lots of different weapons would be too difficult to balance. So i thought about a new system, a modular one. Now players have only one weapon, that is the same for everyone. This weapon is divided in three different parts: the barrel, which determines how it shoots; the spawner which is in charge to determine what kind of projectiles it shoots; and the body that holds the previous two together. So basically the player can find different parts inside chests and build his weapon as he prefers. This way the player might end up with a shotgun and bouncy projectiles, or an automatic rifle that shoots homing projectiles.

Another thing I’ve been working on is the item system. Each player can have just one type of item while playing, meaning that if he finds another one the one equipped will drop. Items can be use for offensive or defensive purposes. We have bombs, turrets, mines and more to come. Items can be found in chests and are cumulative, meaning that if you have a bomb and you find another one, the player will have two bombs.

I also implemented a signal system for the player with the stronger element. For example, if you chose rock and the other player chose scissors, a blue circle will appear under your character to help you recognize who has the advantage.

Future plans

I’m pretty fascinated by the use of different classes inside these kind of games and recently i thought about implementing a similar system in my game. I would like to have classes like tanks, healers, assassins and a damage class. I don’t know if this is a good idea because I haven’t really thought about it that much.

Here’s a video that shows all the progress made.

Leave a comment